R.I.P. Amy Jade Winehouse

23 Jul

14 September 1983 – 23 July 2011

This early morning at 3:54 pm BST (British Summer Time) the insanely talented Amy Winehouse was found dead in her home in Camden, London. Cause of death is still undetermined. A post-mortem examination has been scheduled tomorrow. Amy was only 27 years old and joined the 27 death club which include Kurt Cobain, Jimi Hendrix, and Janice Joplin.

I received the horrible news when I was semi-enjoying a acai bowl at Lean and Green at 10 am while I was checking my twitter account. I must say it was like February 11, 2010 all over again. I loved Amy to the core and have mentioned many times how she needed to comeback. She was a true raw talent of the 21st century where synthesizers took over the music industry. Yes, she had various demons that she had to battle and they were very public but I hope that her addiction to drugs was the main cause of her death. I just want everyone to remember her talent and unique style were she successfully brought the 60’s back to the modern day. With her towering bee hive hairstyle, thick cat eye eyeliner, and her tattoos that a sailor from the 40s would rock. I remember my first Amy Winehouse album it was a gift from a ex-boyfriend that I was pimping at the time and this was the time were she was barely or even ever mentioned in the U.S.. Till this day I would listen to her records on repeat without skipping a song. I wish I had the chance to see her live even though she might be a no show but least there was the possibility. I would always ignore those who would ridicule her behavior because I can see that she was battling demons that were too powerful that rehab would not even help. Now she is finally in peace and the negativity is now non-existent but she will be truly miss by her dedicated fans.

My condolences and prayers go out to her family and friends

One Response to “R.I.P. Amy Jade Winehouse”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Amy Jade Winehouse | Seit über 10.000 Jahren Erfahrung in Versklavung - July 26, 2011

    […] R.I.P. Amy Jade Winehouse (523m.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

